IPL 2023: "He Can Play The IPL Next Year As Well, You Never … – Cricket Addictor

Former India batsman Suresh Raina said that he would not be surprised if MS Dhoni plays in the Indian Premier League in 2024 amid speculation about the Chennai Super Kings captain’s retirement after the 2023 season. Suresh Raina shares a friendship with MS Dhoni off the field as well, as he decided to retire soon after the legendary Indian captain announced his retirement.
Earlier, MD Dhoni said that he would play his final IPL game in the Chepauk stadium. The 41-year-old is one of the most successful captains in IPL history, having led the franchise to four titles in 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021. The Jharkhand batter guided CSK to the title in 2021 despite a bad season in 2020. Chennai failed to qualify for the playoffs only twice under Dhoni’s leadership.
IPL 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score
Speaking during the Legends League Cricket tournament in Doha, Suresh Raina believes MS Dhoni can extend his IPL career one more year. Raina highlighted that it will be difficult for players like Dhoni and Ambati Rayudu to get into a groove without playing competitive cricket.
“He can play the IPL next year as well, you never know,” Raina said.
“He (Dhoni) has been batting well and looking fit, it depends on how the performance is this year. It may be a little challenging since him and (Ambati) Rayudu haven’t played in the tournament since one year,” he added.
The former India captain announced his retirement from the captaincy before the start of the 2020 season, but was forced to return to the captaincy role mid-season after Ravindra Jadeja pulled out of the competition due to injury. He scored 232 runs in 14 IPL matches with an average of 33.14 and a strike rate of 123.40, including one half-century in last year’s tournament.
Also read: “I Once Had An Incident With Sachin, We Went To Canada…” – Saqlain Mushtaq Shares An Unheard Tale Of His Rivalry With Sachin Tendulkar
Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah


Leave a Comment