Who has the most wickets in IPL 2023? Shami, Rashid and Mohit … – Sporting News

The Indian Premier League (IPL) recognises the top wicket-taker of the competition with the prestigious Purple Cap. 
The race is once again on for the coveted Purple Cap award in the IPL 2023 with GT’s Mohammed Shami leading the race with 28 wickets.
He is followed by teammates Rashid Khan and Mohit Sharma who have 27 and 24 scalps each.
MORE: Bet on the Purple Cap winner for IPL 2023
*Bowlers with a better economy rate will be ranked higher.
How to watch IPL 2023 season online and on TV Full list of players, teams for IPL 2023
Since Shami has the most wickets at the moment, he will be wearing the Purple Cap until somebody overtakes his tally. 
Dwayne Bravo and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have won the most Purple Caps in history, two each.
Pakistani fast bowler Sohail Tanveer was the first-ever recipient of the award. In the inaugural edition of the tournament, Tanveer picked up 22 wickets and played a crucial role in Rajasthan lifting their maiden IPL trophy.
Six Indians have won the award in the past. Former India international speedster RP Singh was the first Indian to win the Purple Cap.
Thereafter, Pragyan Ojha, Mohit Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal bagged the award.
Among all the Purple Cap winners over the years, Harshal Patel and Dwayne Bravo have picked the most wickets in one season (32).


Leave a Comment